This is the "Home" page of the "Gateway for Online Learners at a Distance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gateway for Online Learners at a Distance  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.oakwood.edu/GOLD Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Services

Off-campus Access to databases

You must be currently registered as an OU student or faculty and have an oakwood.edu e-mail account and password to access the databases.  These databases provide scholarly abstracts, citations, full-text articles, e-books and media for research and study.  Simply go to library’s web page (www.oakwood.edu/library) and select the Search databases for articles tab.  Additional instructions about how to search are found in LibGuides and tutorials.  Follow instructions required.

 

Contact Chris Dewitt at 256-726-7517 or at cdewitt@oakwood.edu if there is any difficulty in accessing the databases.

 

Research Assistance

Research Assistance is available via  ASK US.  Librarians are available for  individual consultations and classes.

Kieren Bailey    kbailey@oakwood.edu 256-726-7248
Paulette McLean Johnson pjohnson@oakwood.edu 256-726-7250
Jacqueline Neath-Foster jfoster@oakwood.edu 256-726-7252
 Heather Rodriguez-James hjames@oakwood.edu 256-726-7259
Vincent Turner vturner@oakwood.edu 256-726-7253
 

Searching Database Tips

  • The number one tip: ask a librarian for help.
  • Boolean Operators  (Boolean operators define the relationships between words or groups of words.)

    • And - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education and technology finds articles that contain bothterms.
    • Or - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education or technology finds results that containeither term.
    • Not - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education not technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
  • Truncation (*) Symbols
    Truncation is represented by an asterix  (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *. Here you  find all forms of that word.  For example, type teen* to find the words teenager, teens or teen.
  • Using Quotation Marks
         When a phrase is enclosed by double quotations marks, the exact phrase is searched. In a generalized search Edinboro University would find articles with Edinboro and University in them, but in no paticular order.  The search "child obesity" will only find articles with child obesity next to each other in in the order they were typed.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip