Skip to main content

Archives/Museum & Special Collection at Eva B. Dykes Library: Museum

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.

Clara Peterson Rock Museum

The Oakwood University Archives is the depository for the historical records of Oakwood University, and African-American Seventh-day Adventists. The mission of the University Archives is to acquire, preserve, and make available materials of value, which focus on alumni, faculty, administrators, staff, the history of Oakwood University, and Black Seventh-day Adventists. Opening in 1973, the department houses the earliest documents in connection with the founding, purchasing, and the managing of the University's property. The records include board meeting minutes, presidential papers, yearbooks, school newspapers, bulletins, dissertations, photographs, administrative and academic departments' records, oral histories and stories. In addition to the document collections, the Archives houses photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, filmstrips, and slides. It is located on the lower level of the Eva B. Dykes Library.

Opened on October 6, 2010, the Clara Peterson-Rock Museum is a visual story of Oakwood University and Black Seventh-day Adventism in the context of the American and Adventist history. We invite the Oakwood family and friends of Oakwood to visit and make contributions to this important legacy. The Museum is open to the public whenever the library is open. Kindly contact The Archives at 256-726-7249 to schedule a guided group or individual tour,

 

Museum Policy

For the protection of the works of art and our visitors, the following policies currently apply when you visit the Clara Peterson-Rock Museum.

 

·     Appointments may be made, with at least a 24-hour lead time, for individual and/or group visit.

 

·     Class visits must be arranged and the teacher present.

 

·     Nothing may be carried on your back.

 

·     At the entrance, museum staff may ask to visibly check all parcels and bags.  Coats, umbrellas, laptops/ bookbags and backpacks must be checked at the Circulation desk or left elsewhere prior to entering the Museum.

 

·     Food and beverages are not allowed in the Museum.

 

·     Please turn off cell phone while in the Museum to ensure the best possible visit for all.

 

·     Please do not touch works of art. For your safety and for the preservation of the artwork, please stand at least one foot away from the piece you are viewing.

 

·     Photography, sketching (in dry media), and videotaping of the collection are allowed for personal use only. Flash photography, tripods, monopods, and all other supportive apparatus are not permitted.

 

·     Children may not be carried on the shoulders of another person or in a backpack child carrier. Strollers are admissible.

 

·     Visitors will be asked to present all carried items for inspection upon exiting the Museum.

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.