Skip to main content

Archives/Museum & Special Collection at Eva B. Dykes Library: Procedures and Policies

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.

Guidelines for Using the Archives

The Oakwood University Archives will provide competent and knowledgeable personnel to advise users about the University's historical collection and assist with their research.  All persons wishing to enter the research area of the Archives must sign in on the SIGN IN sheet at the receptionist desk, complete an application for a research card and show valid and acceptable photo identification.  (The research card must be visible at all times while in the Archives.)

Rules for Using the Archives

  1. Upon entering the Archives, the researcher must sign the log sheet and leave a picture I.D. with the attendant.
  2. Researchers must carry into the research room only a pencil, un-zippered notebook or paper.
  3. Researchers must not mark upon, trace, or otherwise misuse historic records.
  4. Materials must be placed flat on tables and not held in hands or on lap.
  5. Unbound papers must be maintained in the exact order in which they are received by the researcher.
  6. Researchers may pick up their I.D. from the attendant and sign out when their research is finished.

Security of Records

We have specific procedures which are designed to protect the University's archival holdings.  Patrons will be permitted access only to designated areas and will not be allowed to move freely within the area, from room to room.  The following items are not permitted in the research room:

  • Food, drinks, etc.
  • Purses, briefcases, book bags, etc.
  • Bags of any kind
  • Zippered notebooks

Pencil and paper are the only two items that are allowed in the researcher's room.

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.