History and Mission of the ArchivesProcedures and Policies
BuildingsMarkersPresidents
This is the "Home" page of the "Archives/Museum & Special Collection at Eva B. Dykes Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.
Last Updated: May 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.oakwood.edu/Archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Archives/Special Collections/Museum

Profile Image
Heather Rodriguez James
Contact Info
256-726-7259
256-726-8226 (fax)
hjames@oakwood.edu
Send Email
 

Location

The Archives is located on the lower level of the Eva B. Dykes Library.

 

The Archives & Special Collections

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.


The Oakwood University Archives is the depository for the historical records of Oakwood University, and African-American Seventh-day Adventists. The mission of the University Archives is to acquire, preserve, and make available materials of value, which focus on alumni, faculty, administrators, staff, the history of Oakwood University, and Black Seventh-day Adventists. Opening in 1973, the department houses the earliest documents in connection with the founding, purchasing, and the managing of the University's property. The records include board meeting minutes, presidential papers, yearbooks, school newspapers, bulletins, dissertations, photographs, administrative and academic departments' records, oral histories and stories. In addition to the document collections, the Archives houses photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, filmstrips, and slides. It is located on the lower level of the Eva B. Dykes Library.

 

 

Clara Peterson Rock Museum

The Clara Peterson-Rock Museum is a visual story of Oakwood University and Black Seventh-day Adventism in the context of the American and Adventist history. We invite the Oakwood family and friends of Oakwood to visit and make contributions to this important legacy. The Museum is open to the public whenever the library is open. Kindly contact Ms. Antonia Jackson at 256-726-7249  to schedule a guided group or individual tour.

 

 

Welcome!

OPENING HOURS (Fall/Spring)

M-Th. :  8:00 am-5:30 pm

Fri. :      8:00 am-2:00 pm

 

ARCHIVES' ASSISTANT

Antonia Jackson 256-726-7249

Digital Collections

  • Digital Archives
    An online collection of yearbooks, annual bulletins, and other publications from Oakwood.

  • General Conference Office of Archives, Statistics and Research
    The archives houses over 20,000 linear feet of records covering the entire period of the Seventh-day Adventist Church history. Patrons can trace the development of the church through these records, which include legal instruments, minutes, reference files, reports, correspondence, publications, recordings, films, video and audio tapes, and photographs. This site marks the beginning of an effort to place some of the most referenced archival documents in a flexible and expandable online system. (more information)
  • Oakwood Archives Online Catalog
    Welcome to the beginning of the Archives' project to catalog the items in its collection. Some of the items in the collection have been scanned and the images are attached. Keep browsing as material is being added on a weekly basis.

    In the upcoming weeks photos will be added that may not have names attached. This is because we would like your assistance in identifying the person(s) in the photo. This can be done in the "Send Feedback" section on the page.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip