Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in Communication: Databases

Hot Topics

SOME HOT TOPICS

  • Communication
  • Gossip
  • Intercultural communication
  • Interpersonal communication
  • Mass media
  • Broadcast Journalism
  • Press and politics
  • Television Broadcasting
  • Radio Journalism
  • Foreign News
  • Expressionist
  • Byzantiine
  • Medieval
  • Ceramic
  • Mosiac

Print Journals

  •  Communication Culture & Critque
  • Communication Culture Package
  • Communication Education
  • Communication Quarterly
  • Communication Research Reports
  • Communication Theory

Subject Specific Databases

African-American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete™ provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMCincorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Ethnic Newswatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship.

LegalTrac


Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum. Each title included is selected on the basis of criteria provided the American Association of Law Libraries.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.

The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

ProQuest Newspapers

At ProQuest, we are a leading innovator in academic library solutions — drawing on 70 years of collaboration with academic libraries around the world to shape new information services and solutions. We work closely with our customers and advisory boards to understand what's coming next and to leverage the latest content and technology in new solutions that are tailored to emerging library needs to serve undergraduates, graduate school students, faculty, and researchers.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

With its emphasis on ideas, people, events and products that symbolize America, the 5-vol. St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture is a cross-curriculum resource that will find use among a wide variety of users. Major topics include: television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising.

The vast, 5-vol. set includes more than 2,700 signed essays. Ranging from 500 to 2,500 words in length, entries are written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.

 

Subject Guide

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.