Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in Exercise Science: Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500. Most are peer reviewed. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles. List of titles by subject.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship.

CINAHL Plus w/Fulltext

CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 462 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.

PubMed

Coverage of over 3,800 journals in medical literature from 1966 to the present, including many aspects of psychology.

ScienceDirect

Abstracts & some full text of scholarly publications for the social sciences and humanities.

Subject-Specific Databases

Journal of Intercollegiate Sports

The Journal of Intercollegiate Sport (JIS) provides an exciting forum for research specifically addressing sport in college and university settings. This interdisciplinary journal publishes articles from the sciences, social sciences, humanities, and professional fields, providing a complete look at all factors affecting intercollegiate sport. The research presented crosses traditional academic boundaries and challenges current views and practices while maintaining an informative rather than editorial focus.

Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology

The Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology (JSEP) publishes research articles by leading world scholars that explore the interactions between psychology and exercise and sport performance, editorials about contemporary issues in the field, abstracts of current research on sport and exercise psychology, and book reviews. The Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology is an official publication of the North American Society for the Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity (NASPSPA).

Journal of Sport Management (JSM)

The sport management industry is growing by leaps and bounds, with an explosion in research projects, texts, and university programs. As the field continues to rapidly evolve, it's imperative for sport managers to keep abreast of the latest developments. The Journal of Sport Management (JSM) is your key to staying on top of current issues and trends in this dynamic field. The official journal of the North American Society for Sport Management, JSM brings you thought-provoking editorials, research articles, and reviews that examine a number of areas as they relate to the management, governance, and consumption of sport, such as: organizational theory, behavior, and strategy; sport operations; law and policy; economics, finance, and accounting; marketing, consumer behavior, sponsorship, advertising, and licensing; media, communications, and public relations; sport tourism; facility and event management; and gender and diversity.

Journal of Sport Rehabilitation

The Journal of Sport Rehabilitation (JSR) is your source for the latest research in the field of sport rehabilitation. All members of the sports-medicine team will benefit from the wealth of important information in each issue. JSR is completely devoted to the rehabilitation of sport and exercise injuries, regardless of the age, gender, sport ability, level of fitness, or health status of the participant. To subscribe to either the print or e-version of JSR, press the Subscribe/Renew button at the top of this screen.

Journal of Teaching in Physical Education

The Journal of Teaching in Physical Education (JTPE) features research articles based on classroom and laboratory studies, descriptive and survey studies, summary and review articles, and discussion of current topics of interest to physical educators at every level.

Your Library Liaison

Hot Topics in Exercise Science

  • Obesity
  • Temperance
  • Physical Education Standards
  • Exercise
  • Competition
  • Disability
  • BMI
  • Sports Medicine
  • Extreme Sports
Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.