This guide includes print and online research tools related to the study of religion and theology. It is a selected list of resource materials and is not meant to be exhaustive. Please see a reference librarian for additional research assistance.
The call numbers for all areas of religion range from BL to BX. However, many interdisciplinary sources in other areas, for example HQ (family, marriage, women) may be relevant.
Ellen G. White by 
Ellen G. White: prophet of destiny by 
The Ellen G. White encyclopedia. by 
Promises for the Last Days by 
Prophetess of Health by This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Andrews University Standards for Written Work
Recommendations and requirements of all departments and programs of Andrews University.
ATLA Religion Databases with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
The Biblical Research Institute staff consists of several Adventist theologians working at the world headquarters of the Seventh-day Adventist Church who promote the study and practice of Adventist theology and lifestyle as understood by the world church. The Institute provides theological resources for the administration and departments of the General Conference and the world church. It identifies areas of doctrinal and theological discussion seeking to enhance their understanding and builds commitment to the truths of Scripture. It encourages and facilitates dialogue with the Seventh-day Adventist theological community, endeavoring to foster doctrinal and theological unity in the world church.
A leading documentary collection for the study of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, its predecessors and related groups, from the Millerite Movement of the mid-nineteenth century to the present. The Center holds publications in all formats on all aspects of the Seventh-day Adventist Church--its mission, theology, and activities--including those from official and unofficial sources. The center serves as a Branch Office of the Ellen G. White Estate, the rare material repository for the James White Library and as the Andrews University Archives and Records Center.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
The Ellen G. White® Estate, Incorporated, is an organization created by the last will and testament of Ellen G. White to act as her agent in the custody of her writings, handling her properties, "conducting the business thereof," "securing the printing of new translations," and the "printing of compilations from my manuscripts. It is through the Estate that you can search the complete writings of E.G. White online.
General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists, Office of Archives, Statistics and Research
The archives houses over 20,000 linear feet of records covering the entire period of the Seventh-day Adventist Church history. Patrons can trace the development of the church through these records, which include legal instruments, minutes, reference files, reports, correspondence, publications, recordings, films, video and audio tapes, and photographs. This site marks the beginning of an effort to place some of the most referenced archival documents in a flexible and expandable online system.
Award-winning web directory of internet resources on the New Testament. Browse or search annotated links on everything connected with the academic study of the New Testament and Christian Origins. This major upgrade of the site improves navigation and introduces lots of new features. For all the latest information on the site, please visit the NT Gateway blog.
ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives. Many essential full-text titles cannot be found in any other online database.
The Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index provides indexing to approximately 40 Seventh-day Adventist journals and magazines.
Theological Research Exchange Network
The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. Titles may be ordered online through our search and order system.
TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Here are a few of our conference paper sources:
Free Web Resources on Religion
Compiled by Yale University Divinity School Library this LibGuide contains free online resources for the study of Christianity.
