Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in Music: Instrumental Education P-12: Databases

Hot Topics

SOME HOT TOPICS

  • Assessment
  • Diversity
  • Leadership
  • Literacy
  • Online Education
  • Parent Involvement
  • Special Education
  • Retention
  • Teacher Quality

Subject Specific Databases

College Source

CollegeSource Online is a database of 56,226 digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.

Education Research Complete

Designed for educators, administrators, and those seeking professional development resources, this bibliographic and full-text database covers scholarly research relating to all areas of education. 

ERIC (Ebsco)

ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

ERIC (First Search)

Complete database on educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC).

 Expanded Academic ASAP

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. Delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher.

Journal of Adventist Education

A professional journal for Seventh-day Adventist® teachers from kindergarten through university level, as well as educational administrators at all levels. Published bimonthly, except one issue for June through September. Each issue features informational and practical articles on a variety of topics relating to Christian education and devotional items. Occasional theme issues also deal with practical applications of Christian education and the integration of faith and learning in the classroom.

Infotrac - Professional Collection

A customized selection of journals selected by your institution powered by InfoTrac.

Infotrac - Student Edition

With over 1100 titles this multi-source database is designed for high-school students providing them with access to a variety of full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on topics most important to their curriculum including: current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is Gale's exciting database designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with an engaging, developmentally appropriate graphic interface, premier reference content and the best magazines for elementary students, Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research — and makes it fun!

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, account, and academic markets. LexisNexis originally pioneered online information with its Lexis and Nexis services. Lexis is part of RELX Group and serves customers in more than 100 countries with more than 15,000 employees worldwide.

LexisNexis State

Check the status of a bill or search bill text. Search state statues or find summaries of state laws. Find summaries or the full text of state regulations. Search publications for articles about issues affecting states. Locate information about state legislators, their staffs and state offices. Link to other Web sites with useful information about the states.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.

Primary Search

Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

 Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection™ provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

PsycINFO

The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Subject Guide

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.