Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annotated Bibliography: Home

Citation Style LibGuides

Creating an Annotated Bibliography - Video

Additional Online Resources

OWL - Purdue Online Writing Lab provides examples of Annotated Bibliographies for APA, MLA, and Chicago Styles.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) that have been used for researching a topic. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources that gives the publication information and a short description — or annotation — for each source.

  • Each annotation is generally three to seven sentences long.
  • In some bibliographies, the annotation merely describes the content and scope of the source;
  • In others, the annotation also evaluates the source’s reliability, currency, and relevance to a researcher’s purpose.

Subject Guide

Contributors

Content and Design for this Liguide was contributed by Hunt Luker. Permission received from Savannah Sate University Library.

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.