Unofficial Women Educators, Post Reconstruction: Ida B. Wells-Barnett

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.

Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.

Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.

Offers more than 60 electronic book collections from some of the world's most renowned STM publishing houses, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience®.

Provides access to education literature and resources.

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Provide access to thousands of videos. • Videos can be easily added to LibGuides, distance education courses, social media.

A collection of uniquely rich literary content.

Allows users to search Gale's Professional Collection, General OneFile, Student Edition, LegalTrac, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.

Provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals, nearly 500 reference books, and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of over 592,000 photos, maps, and flags.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 American and international newspapers.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field
Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Discover over 60 "Focus On" articles which feature essays, photographic essays, and a selected list of articles that will further guide the reader

The largest aggregated database of periodical content.

Provides the most comprehensive resource for nearly every kind of researcher seeking news information from today all the way back to 1764.

Contains full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 14,636 conference papers.

Assembles a national collection of historical African-American materials — images, videos, books, and more — for use by scholars, artists, parents, students, and educators.

Our Founders
In 1908, a deadly race riot rocked the city of Springfield, eruptions of anti-black violence – particularly lynching – were horrifically commonplace, but the Springfield riot was the final tipping point that led to the creation of the NAACP. Appalled at this rampant violence, a group of white liberals that included Mary White Ovington and Oswald Garrison Villard (both the descendants of famous abolitionists), William English Walling and Dr. Henry Moscowitz issued a call for a meeting to discuss racial justice. Some 60 people, seven of whom were African American (including W. E. B. Du Bois, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, and Mary Church Terrell), signed the call, which was released on the centennial of Lincoln's birth.