Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in English and Foreign Language: Multidisciplinary Databases

This guide includes print and online research tools related to the study of English and Foreign Language. It is a selected list and is not meant to be exhaustive.

Hot Topics

SOME HOT TOPICS

  • Writing and social networks
  • Writing assessment
  • Integrating faith and learning in language programs
  • Creating a writing lab that focuses on advanced writing skills
  • Twenty-first century English programs
  • English Law degrees
  • How do you motivate the departmental club to attract majors that stay with the club through graduation?

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,500 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4600. Most are peer reviewed. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles. List of titles by subject.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

ProCon.org

ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We do not express opinions on our research projects ("issue websites").

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Encylopaedia Britannica, Inc., headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, is a leading provider of learning and knowledge products. We're proud to be one of the world's most trusted sources of information on every topic imaginable - from the origins of the universe to current events and everything in between. Get a glimpse of our company, products, and business opportunities here on our corporate site to see how we're making it happen.

Directory Of Open Access Journals

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the staff, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited by over 320,000 persons per month.

Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author's name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or "proto articles," and have largely been adapted from older sources. They are identifiable by the inclusion of the initials "IEP" at the close and will in time be replaced by original articles.

 

JSTORis a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship.

Subject Guide

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.