It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EN 112 - Freshman Composition: Argumentative Essays
To help the user find, evaluate, and use information sources as it pertains to the writing of effective argumentative essays and research papers.
Used by permission of Charlotte Olson, Salmon Library, UAHuntsville
Contains information from different points of view for several key controversial topics. Not only does it have basic points of view info, but also has articles and primary sources to back up the claims.
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
How to find editorials
Editorials offer reasoned opinions on current controversial topics. One of the best databases for this is ProQuest Newspapers.
Full-text of hundreds of national, local, and international news sources, such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Includes top news, and arts, sports, business, and popular culture information. Searchable by subject, company, person, product, and geographic area.
"ProCon.org is an independent, nonpartisan, 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity. We promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting research on controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format. Our websites are free, unbiased, and updated periodically."
"Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working to strengthen our democracy’s capacity to tackle tough issues. We want to ensure the public’s views are represented in decision-making and that citizens have the tools and information they need to grapple with the critical challenges of the day. We conduct public opinion research, we run public engagement programs around the country, and we run this Web site to give both citizens and leaders the information they need to know."
There's a box to search different topics (tag cloud) in the bottom right corner.
"The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues."
Issues & Research tab
Book spotlight: Weaponized lies: how to think critically in the post-truth era
Weaponized Lies by Daniel J. Levitin
Call Number: BC177 .L486 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
We need to think critically about the words and numbers we encounter if we want to be successful at work, at play, and in making the most of our lives. The author encourages you to separate the wheat from the digital chaff.