Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Speaking: Home

Off Campus Services

Off-campus access to databases

You must be currently registered as an OU student or faculty and have an @oakwood.edu e-mail account and password to access the databases. These databases provide scholarly abstracts, citations, full-text articles, e-books, and media for research and study. Simply go to library’s web page (www.oakwood.edu/library) and select the Search our databases tab. If the database requires you to sign into an OCLC portal, enter the same username and password you use to log into an Oakwood computer.

Research Assistance

Librarians are available for  individual consultations and classes.

Rebecca Brothers

rbrothers@oakwood.edu

256-726-7253

Jeshua Hinton

jhinton@oakwood.edu

256-726-7247

Paulette McLean Johnson

pjohnson@oakwood.edu 256-726-7250

Jacqueline Neath-Foster

jfoster@oakwood.edu 256-726-7252

Searching Database Tips

  • The number one tip: Ask a librarian for help.
  • Boolean Operators define the relationships between words or groups of words.

    • And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education and technology finds articles that contain both terms.
    • Or combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education or technology finds results that contain either term.
    • Not excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education not technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
  • Truncation (*) Symbols
    Truncation is represented by an asterisk  (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *. Here you  find all forms of that word.  For example, type teen* to find the words teenager, teens or teen.
  • Using Quotation Marks
         When a phrase is enclosed by double quotations marks, the exact phrase is searched. In a generalized search, Yale University would find articles with Yale and University in them, but in no particular order.  The search "child obesity" will only find articles with child obesity next to each other in in the order they were typed.
Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.