Skip to main content
Banner Image

Archives/Museum & Special Collection at Eva B. Dykes Library: Home

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.

Subject Guide

Heather James
Contact:
Eva B. Dykes Library
Oakwood University
7000 Adventist Blvd.
Huntsville, AL 35896
256-726-7259

Location

The Archives is located on the lower level of the Eva B. Dykes Library.

The Archives & Special Collections

The Archives provides Oakwood University, its constituents, and community with quality resources related to institutional historical records and the history of Black Adventism.


The Oakwood University Archives is the depository for the historical records of Oakwood University, and African-American Seventh-day Adventists. The mission of the University Archives is to acquire, preserve, and make available materials of value, which focus on alumni, faculty, administrators, staff, the history of Oakwood University, and Black Seventh-day Adventists. Opening in 1973, the department houses the earliest documents in connection with the founding, purchasing, and the managing of the University's property. The records include board meeting minutes, presidential papers, yearbooks, school newspapers, bulletins, dissertations, photographs, administrative and academic departments' records, oral histories and stories. In addition to the document collections, the Archives houses photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, filmstrips, and slides. It is located on the lower level of the Eva B. Dykes Library.

 

Clara Peterson Rock Museum

The Clara Peterson-Rock Museum is a visual story of Oakwood University and Black Seventh-day Adventism in the context of the American and Adventist history. We invite the Oakwood family and friends of Oakwood to visit and make contributions to this important legacy. The Museum is open to the public whenever the library is open. Kindly contact Ms. Antonia Jackson at 256-726-7249  to schedule a guided group or individual tour.

 

Welcome!

OPENING HOURS (Fall/Spring)

M-Th. :  8:00 am-5:00 pm

Fri. :      8:00 am-12:00 pm

 

ARCHIVES' ASSISTANT

Antonia Jackson 256-726-7249

Digital Collections

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.