Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources in Business & Information Systems: Databases

Some Hot Topics

  • Accounting
  • Business Administration
  • Health Care Administration
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Finance
  • Management Information Systems
  • Organizational Management

Subject Specific Databases

Business Index ASAP

Business Index ASAP can be used to find articles on Finance, Acquisitions & Mergers, International Trade, Money Management, New Technologies & Products, Local & Regional Business Trends, Investments and Banking.

Business Index ASAP provides bibliographic references, abstracts or full text of articles from more than 900 business, management, and trade publications, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Asian Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) integrates detailed company and industry news by bringing together articles from periodicals, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies. Audience: high school, college, general public.

Business Source Premier

Business Source® Premier, the industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Ethnic Newswatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.

Ethnic NewsWatch: History provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989. The other side of the story is presented on local, national, and international events that changed the course of history across three turbulent decades, the 60s, 70s and 80s. Pivotal events in these decades are covered - the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law, trickledown economics, and the status of migrant workers.

LegalTrac

Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum. Each title included is selected on the basis of criteria provided the American Association of Law Libraries.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.

The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

ProQuest Newspapers

At ProQuest, we are a leading innovator in academic library solutions — drawing on 70 years of collaboration with academic libraries around the world to shape new information services and solutions. We work closely with our customers and advisory boards to understand what's coming next and to leverage the latest content and technology in new solutions that are tailored to emerging library needs to serve undergraduates, graduate school students, faculty, and researchers.

ProQuest also is proud to serve as the official offsite repository for digital dissertations held by the Library of Congress, which gives us a unique insight into the research and course content needs that lay ahead. Through our deep understanding of emerging research needs in key disciplines from technology and business to history and the social sciences, we develop solutions that are unmatched in their ease of use and their ability to support innovative research and teaching. Our leading digital solutions and microform collections continue to bring an added dimension to research around the world — from day-to-day student projects to helping to shape the latest academic discourse.

Regional Business News

Academic libraries that purchase Business Source® EliteBusiness Source® Premier, or Business Source® Complete will also receive access to Regional Business News™.

Regional Business News provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

Small Business Reference Center

EBSCO's Small Business Reference Center covers topics such as buying/selling a business, managing employees, writing a business plan, understanding legal information, and marketing a business.

Vocational and Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection™ provides full-text coverage for more than 340 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Hotel & Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

World Data Analyst

This rich trove of current and historical statistics on the countries of the world makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy. Plus, World Data Analyst allows subscribers to create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper analysis. Users can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It's ideal for research, to explore new topics for study, or just to learn more about the world.

Subject Guide

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.