Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Human Development & Family Studies Students: Multidisciplinary Databases

Hot Topics in Human Development & Family Studies

Birth order

Stay-at-home fathers

Polygamy

The "sandwich generation" (people who are concurrently caring for children and parents)

Domestic violence

Helicopter parents

Welfare reform

LGBT families' rights (adoption, fostering children, etc.)

Identity issues for transracial and/or international adoptees

Impact of divorce on families

Hookup culture

Impact of eating together as a family

Orphanage models

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

 The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.

ProQuest Central

 This award-winning online reference resource, covering more than 160 subject areas, features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. 

Credo Reference

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.

JSTOR III

JSTOR helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. 

Gale Power Search

Great collection of articles from thousands of Gale resources – magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content. 

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,500 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4600. Most are peer reviewed. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles. List of titles by subject.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

ProCon.org

ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We do not express opinions on our research projects ("issue websites"). Encyclopaedia Britannica

Encylopaedia Britannica, Inc., headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, is a leading provider of learning and knowledge products. We're proud to be one of the world's most trusted sources of information on every topic imaginable - from the origins of the universe to current events and everything in between. Get a glimpse of our company, products, and business opportunities here on our corporate site to see how we're making it happen.

Your Library Liaison

Creative Commons License
Eva B. Dykes Library Libguides by Oakwood University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.