Resources in Social Work: Health

Provides data about key aspects of behavioral healthcare issues including rates of serious mental illness, suicidal thoughts, substance use, underage drinking, and the percentages of those who seek treatment for these disorders. The Barometer shows this data at the national level and for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

U.S. Census, Current Population Survey

An annual report on trends in health statistics.

May, 2015

Bookmark and Share Subscribe to SAMHSA's RSS feeds GovDelivery
SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities.

FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths. Content is updated automatically when the device is connected to the internet, giving the user the most up-to-date health statistics available. Download it free today for iOS or Android.

The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.

This site also provides knowledgeable analysis, commentary and expert "how to" information on gathering such data effectively in scientific surveys, questionnaires and studies. Collected and categorized here you will find numerous datasets and links to rich data sources that are essential to LGBT health research, researchers, students, advocates and anyone interested in scientific-based information about LGBT people and populations.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, HHS

"...New Jersey Department of Health's State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) System. This site provides access to public health datasets and information on the health status of New Jerseyans." The Indicator Reports are packaged graphs and statistics; Dataset Queries allows you to build your own set of statistics.

Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, the site provides access to U.S., state, county, and city maternal and infant health data

Statistics on a variety of areas including abortion, assisted reproductive technology, infant and maternal health, and teen pregnancy.

This wonderful site provides data on more than 400 different health topics for all 50 states, accessible via an interactive map, by category or by keyword search.

This site provides quick access to statistics on births, mortality, and perinatal mortality through prebuilt tables and reports. Users can also create their own tables choosing from over 100 variables.