LibGuides: Resources for LEAP' students: Citation

Getting Started! APA Style Citation

The following sections provide you with information and examples that will help you to cite the sources that you come across during your research.

General Guidelines

For more detailed information, refer to the APA Manual (6th ed.) available at the library, ask your instructor, or Ask Us.

APA.org

About APA Style 7th Edition

APA Citation Style 7th Edition
American Psychological Association (APA) style is commonly used for citing references in student papers in science and social science courses, such as Psychology, Nursing, and Social Work.

The purpose of documentation is to:

Identify (cite) other people’s ideas and information used within your essay or term paper.
Indicate the authors or sources of these in a References list at the end of your paper.
This guide is based on the APA Manual (7th ed.) that was published in 2020.
APA Style 7th Edition Checklist
APA Style 7th Edition Help Guide
Copies of this book (Call Number: BF 76.7.P83 2020) are available at the Course Reserves Desk (2-hour loan) and behind the Circulation Help Desk.
Learn more about APA 7th edition Style rules.

General Guidelines for APA Style

All sources of information and data, whether quoted directly or paraphrased, are cited with parenthetical references in the text of your paper (p. 170).

Example: (Walker, 2003).

Double-space your entire paper, including the References list and any block quotes (pp.171, 180).

Printable Handouts

Learn More

APA Example Paper

Turabian Citation Style Guide

Turabian Citation Style Guide

Turabian Style is based on Chicago Style, but with modifications for students and researchers.

Notes and Bibliography System (N) (B)

Commonly used in the humanities and some social sciences.
Cite the first note of a source in full. Subsequent citations to the same source can be shortened.
N = Note (footnote). 10 pt. font is acceptable. Indent first line as you would a paragraph and set subsequent lines flush left. Single space within and between citations.
Insert a superscript number at the end of the text you are citing. Using a superscript number for the note is acceptable.

B = Bibliography. Set the first line flush left and indent subsequent lines (called a hanging indent). Single space within and between citations. [NPS: Single space within, double space between.]
Format book, journal, article, and public document titles in headline style (Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle and all other major words and proper nouns.)
Italicize book and journal titles, not article titles.
Use Ibid. for a single work cited in the note immediately preceding. Include page numbers if different than the first note. Avoid using Ibid. to refer to notes that do not appear on the same page.

Parenthetical Citations-Reference List System

Commonly used in the physical, natural, and social sciences.

P = In-text citations which are enclosed in parentheses.

R = Reference List. Set the first line flush left and indent subsequent lines (called a hanging indent). Single space within and double space between citations. [NPS: Single space within, double space between.]

Format book and article titles in sentence style. (Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle and any proper nouns.)
Format journal and public document titles in headline style. (Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle and all other major words and proper nouns.)
Italicize book, journal, and public document titles, not article titles.

Formatting Authors

Examples taken from the

Two or three authors or editors: List authors as in order as shown on the title page. In the bibliography, invert only the first author’s name. Use the conjunction and (not an ampersand) between authors’ names.

Find all the rules in this link Turabian APA Style Citation

HELP!

Turabian Citation Quick Guide

Color Coded Citation Examples

Citing Governments Documents

About Plagiarism

"Plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward."

The best way to Avoid Plagiarism is to cite your sources.

MLA Citation Style 8th Edition

MLA citation style @ Purdue OWL
MLA Style Introduction
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citations and Works Cited pages, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.

About MLA Style 8th Edition

MLA Style 8th Edition
The Modern Language Association's eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, published in 2016, is designed to rethink documentation for an era of digital publication. Rather than a list of required citation formulas, it recommends a universal set of guidelines that can be applied to any source (print, electronic, or physical). This gives writers in all fields—from the sciences to the humanities—the tools to effectively document sources based on what a particular audience needs to know about the sources.
MLA Handbook - Table of Contents
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources. This is not just a new edition, it's a new MLA style.
MLA citation style @ Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style.

MLA 8th Edition

Creating the citation

When creating your "Works Cited" page,

Think about the source you are documenting,
Select the information about the source that is appropriate to the project you are creating, and
Organize the information logically and without complication.

The MLA Handbook (8th edition) has a good section (pp. 14-18) on finding the facts about publications, and an extensive discussion of each of the core/optional elements.

Core Elements

These are the core elements of any entry in the Works Cited list, in the order in which they should appear. Omit any element that is not relevant to the source being cited. Use a period after the last element and the punctuation mark shown below for all earlier elements.

Element & Punctuation	Contains
1 Author.	the name of the person or group primarily responsible for creating the work
2 Title of source.	the title of the work, as given in the source
3 Title of container,	the title of a larger work that contains the source being documented
4 Other contributors,	the name of others who helped produce the work (e.g. editors, translators)
5 Version,	identifies the form you used when a source is released in more than one form,
6 Number,	identifies when a source is part of a numbered sequence (e.g. journal issues)
7 Publisher,	the name of the organization primarily responsible for producing the work, or making it avaiiable
8 Publication date,	the date of publication most meaningful or most relevant to your use of the source
9 Location.	where the source is located within the container (e.g. page numbers, URL, disc number, place)

A container may also be nested within a larger container; a blog post within a network of blogs, for example, or a book of short stories available on Google Books. If this is the case, simply repeat the relevant core elements 3-9 to the end of the entry to account for each additional container.

Optional Elements

Besides the core elements, there are several pieces of information that may be important to your use of the source. These may be added to the end of the entry, or right after the core elements they relate to. This is not an exhaustive list; include information bases on whether it might help your reader.

Element & Punctuation	Contains
Date of Original Publication.	if the original date will provide the reader with insight into the work's creation or relation to other works, place it right after the source's title
City of publication,	not usually needed for recent works, but include: (instead of the publisher) for works published before 1900 ; (before the publisher) when the source may differ based on the country of publication, or when it would help identify an unfamiliar publisher in a country outside of North America
Other facts about the source (placed at the end of the entry)
volume count.	total number of volumes in a multivolume publication
series name.	give the series name in regular type and the number of the source (if any) in the series
type of work.	when the source is unexpected (e.g. the transcript of a radio program rather than the broadcast itself)
information about prior publication of the source.	when the source was previously published in a form other than the one you are citing, give that publication information
legislative documents information	give the number and session of the legislature (e.g. Congress), and the document's type and number
date of access.	include if it is important to show which version you consulted, or when the source itself gives no publication/production date

Resources for LEAP' students: Citation

EBSCO Discovery (EDS) Citation Tool